Art Students Visit Joslyn Art Museum

On Friday March 24th, High School Art students spent the day observing and learning about art. They visited the Omaha Public Schools TAC building to observe over 1,200 works of art on display for the Scholastic State Art Exhibition. They also visited the Joslyn Art Museum and participated in both a self-guided tour, and docent led tour. Students are pictured in front of a glass blown sculpture titled “Inside & Out” by living artist Dale Chihuly.

2017 Science Fair Winners

Congratulations to our 2017 Science Fair winners

Junior High
3rd place was Megan Johnson and Rianna Wells with “Battery Power”
2nd place was Malachi King and John McKennan with “The Effectiveness of the Beep”
1st place was Montanna Hirchert and Cameryn Lewis with “The Skinny on Moisturizers”
High School
3rd place Sophia Irvine and Westin Nottleman with “Chemistry of Ice Cream”
2nd place was Cameron and Ethan Shaner with “Erosion”
1st place was Makayla Perry and Morgan Miller with “Do You See What I See?”
Overall Winners were Morgan Therkildsen and Tessa Skelton with “Feeding Plants”

Congratulations to Taya Skelton

Congratulations to Taya Skelton for winning the First National Bank’s Unforgettable Performance of the Week. First National Bank and their partner Hudl had a Fan Favorite Facebook contest for performance of the week and Taya won out of a pool of four other students in Nebraska. She won a Hudl swag bag, along with a $500 Visa prepaid card for our Girl’s Basketball team.

Thank you Jim Shields for the photo.


Dr. Seuss Week

There was so much fun happening around Fort Calhoun Elementary during Dr. Seuss week. We had several contests including costume, class pet, and door decorating. The students enjoyed a special snack, QR code activities and of course guest readers and “drop everything and read” time. A new activity this year was a book donation contest. We collected 591 books which will be donated to the Bridge Crisis Center in Blair. The week ended with an assembly to celebrate. The teachers from the classrooms who donated the most books, had a cake eating contest. As you can see, it was a ton of fun! Thanks to everyone who made this week a success.


2017 NCC Honor Band

Congratulations to our 2017 NCC Honor Band members including Sarah Johnson, Avery McKennan, Dalton Ashby, Justin Drowne, Christopher Lopez, Ben Bonacci, Montana Cotttle, Colton Folkers, Tessa Dethlefs, Ian Edie, Travis Fitzgerald, Amanda Hansen, Nick Deyen, Keagan Hunter and Elizabeth Pace. Honor Band was held on March 6th at Ashland-Greenwood High School. The concert included a quartet of Tessa, Elizabeth, Ian, and Travis playing Sinfonia No. 3 by Bach.


Daly Award Candidates

The candidates for the 2017 Daly Award are Tessa Dethlefs, Mandy Hansen, Ellie Shaffer, and Jessica Gravert.  This the 6th year Pam and Dan Daly have sponsored the Youth Engaged Award. The purpose of the speech is to engage the young minds of Fort Calhoun (and Washington County) by having them propose solutions to reverse the population decline, spur economic development/growth, and/or increase quality of life.  Winner receives a $1,000 prize; second place $500 courtesy of Anne Breitkruetz and Roger Nottleman.

The students will present in front of a panel of judges on Saturday, March 11 at 10 a.m. in the high school library. The presentations are open and available to the public.

Heartland of America Band Performs

On Tuesday, Fort Calhoun Junior and Senior High Schools were honored to get a concert from U.S. AirForce’s Heartland of America Band. Teachers and students alike were thrilled with the performance. Many came in not knowing what to expect and were surprise that it was a rock band. It was a fun break in the day.